Quilt Label Nightmare

My Adventures with a Quilt Label

A co-worker asked me to make a quilt label for her. She knows I just got an embroidery machine. I thought to myself, no problem. Was I dreaming or what. I only have had my embroidery machine for a few months and I really have not had much of a chance to play with it. I knew I had fonts so I thought this should be easy. What I did not have was a frame or borders. So out to the web. Found a couple of inexpensive quilt label embroidery patterns. Downloaded and started to experiment. The first problem was that my bobbin thread kept coming up through the pattern. Ok, out to the web again to forums and found out how to fix that.  Did not have my bobbin thread in right.  Then back to the drawing board with getting the lettering to fit in the quit label. That took a couple of more practice trys. I got that fixed and tried it on a sample.  It came out perfect.  I then went to her fabric and off course the thread broke. I pushed the backup button and went too far and had double coverage on my letters.   Luckily I had enough fabric to do another run. This time it turned out great.

You can see I used a lot of practice fabric before I got it right. This was an all day affair. I hope she appreciates her quilt label.

All my practice trys

Practice, Practice, Practice

This is a close-up of the final try.  It turned out fine.  I hope she likes it.

The one

This Was My Best Effort

About grandmasusiequilts

I am a grandmother of four, a photographer and above all a quilter.
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quilt Label Nightmare

  1. Joyce says:

    What kind of embroidery machine did you buy? I have had a sewing/embroidery machine for a long time. In 2013 I purchased a used PR600 (6 needles). Still not enough time in the day to play with it much.

Leave a Reply

